Skip to content

Stay off the Sidewalks

March 24, 2009

Kaleigh got her driver’s license.

She took the final test and while I waited to hear the results, part of me secretly hoped she would fail.  She didn’t.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m proud of her.  She worked hard for this–taking Driver’s Education classes and logging 50 hours of practice driving over the past year. Not to mention saving her babysitting money for car insurance. She’s very responsible.

But something about this particular event in her life is making my maternal instinct kick into high gear. In most instances I am able to keep an objective opinion and be the Non-Bio voice of reason when Mom and Dad disagree about things like strapless Homecoming dresses and appropriate amounts of video game time.

In this case,  all of my rationale has flown out the window.  I want to lock her in her room until she promises to stop growing up. How very motherly of me.

Instead, I congratulate her, hand over my car keys and increase my insurance coverage.  Sigh.

I’ll be okay.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

