Skip to content

Cojones

May 23, 2009

Ava loves to sing.

She constantly strums her pink guitar (a gift from Santa) and croons about anything that’s on her mind. “Mason is soooooooo mean. He punched me in the aaaaaaaarrrrrrmmmm.”

So when it came time for the school talent show, there was no question what she would be doing. She came home thrilled and waving the sign-up form, already practicing her chosen song.

I took the form and promptly buried it under a pile of papers on the kitchen counter, hoping that she would forget all about it and we would miss the registration deadline.

I know, I suck.

But here’s the thing…I was terrified for her.

I immediately started having flashbacks to my own elementary school talent show where I lamely lip synched “Walk Like An Egyptian” to obligatory applause and a mocking older brother. I’m sure my own mother tried to reassure me that I wasn’t completely horrible, but I couldn’t hear her through my heavy sobs.

Ava however, is a tenacious little shit. I’m more than a little jealous of her self-confidence.

And for more talent show fun, watch Ava’s friend Abby and her crazy Hula Hoop hip action.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

