Skip to content

Bellying Up to the Epstein Barr

May 24, 2009

I am currently camped out at gate 75B in the LAX airport on the way to Hawaii and I’m miserable.

I know what you’re thinking–poor Super, going to Hawaii for a week of fun in the sun. Boo Hoo.

But really…I’m sick.

And not the I have a sniffle and need a tissue kind of sick.

A week ago I was diagnosed with the Epstein Barr virus (aka Mono). If you’ve ever had Mono you can stop reading now because you know exactly how I’m feeling and you probably need to go lie down from the mere memory of exhaustion.

If you haven’t, then let me try to explain: fever, chills, body aches, headache, sore throat, nausea, vomiting, diarrhea. And this is all trumped by the fact that I’m so tired I can barely sit upright.

So why the hell am I traveling?

I could argue that Hawaii is the perfect place to rest and recuperate, but really I’m doing it for the kids. We’ve spent months planning this trip (their first to the Islands) and I just couldn’t bear the idea of them missing it…even if it means that I’ll be running to purge behind a palm tree every few minutes.

So here I am, trying to hang tough, wondering if I should have invested some of our vacation funds in a medical facial mask like so many of my Swine Flu-phobic traveling counterparts and hoping I make it through the six hour flight ahead of me. I’ll let you know how it goes.

On a positive note, my inability to digest food has aided in achieving my bikini body goal weight. Yay me!

SwineFlu_resized

Leave a Reply

