Skip to content

And the Award for Worst Mother in the World goes to…

June 27, 2009

Today at the last swim meet of the season I stood idly by, chatting with friends as my little monkey swam her very first 25 meter butterfly.

She exited the pool, defeated after being disqualified for performing a flutter kick, and on the verge of tears. She slowly walked up to me, dripping wet and asked “Did you watch me?”

I was busted. And I knew it. And so did she.

“I’m so sorry. I missed it.” I said as I smooshed her little face into my belly to try to keep her from crying.

I feel beyond guilty. And the crappy part is, this isn’t the first time I’ve missed a race because I was “shootin’ the shit” with another swim team parent. I can usually feign spectatorship (is that even a
word?) much better.

Anyway, I tried to bribe back her love for me with a smoothie.
Do you think it worked?

DSC_0062

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

