Skip to content

Dead Cat Walking

August 7, 2009

Some people are cat people, and some people are not.

Me? I’m not.

We have a cat named Boom Boom, inherited by marriage. He is a beautiful cat; black and white, long hair–I get compliments about him all of the time.

But… Boom Boom is the devil.

And it’s not just him. My disdain for cats is species-wide. So much so, that my regular BeingSuper.com readers are astounded that I’ve refrained from writing about my pussy problems thus far.

Now I’m sure there are plenty of cat lovers out there who completely disagree with me, but before you hit “Send” on your digital hate mail, hear me out.

I’ve had A LOT of negative feline experiences:

There was Butterscotch, my first cat, who toward the end of his life went blind and started to regularly hump the stuffed cow that sat on my bed. This is my most vivid memory of him.

Then there was Nixon, aptly named for his scoliosis. Nixon was a wedding gift–yes, a wedding gift– from my first husband (that marriage was obviously doomed from the beginning). Due to his scoliosis, Nixon couldn’t poop properly and constantly ran around our small apartment with a dingleberry. When I became pregnant with Ava, Nixon found a new home.

And now there is Boom Boom, who as I am writing this, just bit my pinky toe, drawing blood. As a kitten, Boom Boom used up three of his nine lives in what our family refers to as “The Treadmill Incident.” According to the vet, that trauma is responsible for his indefinite bad mood. We tried Prozac to mellow him out. His initial response to that was to bite Mason’s head. Long story short, Boom Boom is a BMF.

As it turns out, Boom Boom is not doing well and the vet thinks it’s time to say good-bye. And though he and I have had our issues, when I heard those words, the tears welled up in my eyes and all I could do was pet his long black hair.

And he let me.
BoomBoom

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennie C. permalink
    August 7, 2009 2:39 pm

    Haven’t even read your blog, but I read your comment on Dooce’s blog and I thought I’d set your mind at ease … the jury is still out on whether or not Starbuck is a cylon. I’ve seen the whole series. Trust me. Keep watching.

    • Kristin Steiner permalink*
      August 7, 2009 2:53 pm

      Thank you Jennie C. You’ve restored my faith in the gods and saved my weekend.

  2. August 10, 2009 1:14 pm

    I’m related to my cat by marriage only as well. I will cry when she passes…but I will refuse to admit it’s because I’m a cat person!

Leave a Reply

