Skip to content

The First Day of the Rest of the Year

August 19, 2009

Yesterday was the first day of school for my kids. It didn’t really count though. It was too easy.

I woke up earlier than usual to attempt to avert any hygiene high jinx, wardrobe worriment or breakfast bugaboos. (Love that alliteration Baby)

But the morning went off without a hitch–save for Non-Bio daughter forgetting her shoes (yes… her shoes!), and having to choose between borrowing a pair of old, size 11 flip flops from a teammate or wearing her softball cleats the entire day. She chose the flip flops. The kids got out of bed without threats or screaming and were excited for the day. All in all, a pleasant morning.

Today however, is the second day of school. The excitement has worn off already and we are back to our version (and I suspect many others’ version) of “normal.”

The day started with a stern warning to Kaleigh to “Get your ass out of bed right now!” Continued with Mason kicking Ava who was lying on the floor of my office avoiding breakfast and wrapped with Ava changing shoes three (count em’ 1, 2, 3) times before heading off to the bus stop.

I am thrilled–let me say it again THRILLED!–that the kids are back in school, but the morning routine is not something I missed. This year we have three kids going to three different schools with buses running about 40 minutes apart and I’m hoping the staggered schedule will work in tandem with my patience and mental health.

I know it will get worse before it gets better, but we’ll all get the hang of it in no time…say like by Memorial Day?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Brit permalink
    August 21, 2009 2:26 pm

    It’s about time you posted me an update! I’ve been checking since we had lunch!! 🙂
    Hope to see you again soon!

Leave a Reply

