Skip to content

I Have a System…Sort of

November 17, 2009

The other day, I was reading one of my favorite blogs, Finslippy, by a lovely writer named Alice Bradley. Alice is hilariously funny and if you have some time, I highly recommend checking her out.  She also has a lovely speaking voice. But I digress.

Anyway, her topic was about the writing process, what she goes through to record her genius and the inner-critic that lives in all of us.  It is the first time I’ve ever commented on her blog and I thought I would share my comments with you and ask you all to do the same for me.

My process consists of writing one sentence, checking Twitter, Facebook, blog stats etc. Writing another sentence, sending my husband a funny/naughty e-card. Writing another sentence, calling a friend to go for lunch. Writing another sentence and calling my mother (if that doesn’t suck the creativity out of a person I don’t know what does). Deleting everything I’ve written up until this point, then cleaning my entire house. And finally barfing out my entire assignment in a 30-45 minute period of rampant typing. Then I send it to my husband to read and habitually graze on high carb foods, waiting for him to ridicule me and shred the crap out of my most intimate thoughts. And he just says. “I like it. It’s funny.”

To this day I don’t know if he’s referring to my writing or the e-card. But I’m not brave enough to ask.

So, tell me about your process.  And I don’t mean just for writing (although I am intrigued and I may steal your shit, fair warning).  We all have certain ways of doing things—housework, grocery shopping, our husbands.

Fess up people!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

