Skip to content

Holiday Recap/Recoup

January 7, 2010

I don’t know about you all, but I’m exhausted. We’ve been going non-stop at Steiner Haus since the week before Christmas.

It started with Monkey and a 24-hour stomach bug that splattered itself across my upstairs hallway carpet (which reminds me, I still need to call Stanley Steemer) and quickly moved onto my intestines just in time for Brent to escape on a multi-city business trip.

We still managed to sneak in our holiday cookie baking though.

What can I say? My kids don’t do “traditional”.

Other than cookies, did you know that I don’t cook?  Well, aside from the fact that Brent is an awesome chef, here’s why:

This is a photo of the pan that caught fire in my oven while trying to toast macadamia nuts.  See those little black balls?  Yeah. Those are the nuts.

Why is the pan sitting in a snow bank, you ask? Well, I couldn’t figure out how to use the fire extinguisher (they should really teach you that in high school) so I panicked and threw the pan in the backyard.

And that is why I don’t cook.

Moving on…

This year, Brent and I decided to blow off the extended family and spend Christmas Eve alone with the kids.  No grandparents, no aunts, uncles or cousins.  Just the five of us.

Don’t I we look pretty?

We got dressed up and had dinner at The Oceanaire, where Monkey was the only kid brave enough to try escargot.  I swear that girl is a human garbage disposal–she will eat anything.

After dinner we attended a live performance of A Christmas Carol and then went home to get ready for Santa.

Christmas morning we discovered that Santa was very generous, even with me.  Apparently my appeal to be removed from the Naughty List worked.  My two favorite gifts:

  1. A Tiffany & Co. Paloma Picasso Zellige laser-etched resin bangle bracelet.  And did you even know that Tiffany sold stuff that wasn’t shiny?  Me neither.
  2. Battlestar Galactica:  Cylon Centurion Action Figure.  You guys knew I was a geek right? Frak Yeah!

Later that day my parents drove down from F’n Wyoming with my Nana and their two dogs.

The rest of the day went off without a hitch save for an inappropriate and unsolicited comment by my Dad about the Obama administration which immediately made me have a flashback to the Steiner Family Birthday BBQ where similar comments were made, a shouting match ensued and I ended up sobbing in the bathroom. But I digress.  This time, the subject was quickly changed and the evening ended peacefully.

All in all I’d have to say that it was the best Christmas yet.

I hope you all had equally wonderful holidays and have fully recovered.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

