Skip to content

Eventuality

January 17, 2010

A couple of months ago a friend asked if I have ever received strange comments on my blog or had creepers follow me on Twitter. The answer then was NO. Well, at least not yet.

Yes, people I don’t know comment and follow me on Twitter. And once an Asian Baptist minister even tried to friend me on Facebook. But I do the same, and that is the very foundation of social media.

But no, I’ve never been stalked or felt threatened in any way because of my blog.

Recently however, I’ve acquired a new BeingSuper reader, manifested by a “stalker spike” in blog traffic. My analytics show some specific keyword searches from a certain state with normally low readership. I know who this person is and why he keeps coming back to read my blog. And it’s concerning.

I don’t really want this new fan of mine because his readership is unhealthy at best, but I’m powerless to prevent it.

When I started this blog, I knew it would be like giving the world a window to my personal life. And it’s a pretty big window–I write about my kids, my husband, my boobs.  I am, by nature, a very open person.

But now, for the first time, I’ve been forced to contemplate who my audience really is. Who am I writing for? Myself? You? And will knowledge of my new fan change my tone, or the subjects of my blog posts?

I think I already know the answers to these questions.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

