Skip to content

Some People’s Children

February 3, 2010

Yesterday we received a mass email from Monkey’s school about student safety and appropriate behavior regarding the use of cell phones.

Basically,they’re NOT allowed.

And as I was reading the email, I thought, “who would let their kid bring a cell phone to school? Must be a 5th grader.”

Now I may be in the shrinking minority here, but my 8-year-old does NOT have a cell phone and she will not be getting one any time soon.

She does however have an old Trac phone that used to be Boy!’s.  The phone doesn’t even work anymore, but that doesn’t stop Monk from chatting up a storm with her make believe friends, making dinner dates with the Soup Man (he’s pretend too, but apparently makes a great stew), and then stylishly tucking the phone into her black boot–she’s so hip.

She’s been doing this for months and I’ve been quick to reiterate the fact that she can NOT bring it to school.

As part of her birthday bash this past weekend, she had a friend stay the night and this friend had a cell phone.  A real one.  This little girl’s mother had given her the hand-me-down phone to use for the night since she was spending the night away from home.

But that real working, calling, texting, cell phone turned on Monkey’s obsessive switch and she didn’t move a single inch this weekend without having her beloved Trac phone securely on her person.

And silly me, I forgot to be the nagging mom (how did that happen?) and remind her again that the phone can NOT go to school.

So long story short, I received a voice mail late last night from the Principal that had come shortly after the school-wide email had been sent. And guess who single-handedly inspired the aforementioned mass email about student safety and appropriate behavior?

My Little Monkey.

By this time she was already asleep, having gone the entire evening without mentioning the fact she had been sent to the Principal’s office. So in the meantime, I rifled through her backpack to confiscate the phone and found plenty of other contraband such as candy wrappers, Littlest Pet Shop toys and notes to boys.

I’m watching you, girlfriend.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2010 10:43 am

    Hilarious! You, it was you!! 🙂 Now I want to guess who was the child w/ a cell phone . . . hmmm.

  2. February 9, 2010 6:31 pm

    Oh dear. I loathe the day my kiddo asks for his first phone.

  3. February 15, 2010 1:07 am

    In my days, we had no cell phones and life was prettier outside this techonology’s bubble.

  4. Grandma J permalink
    March 13, 2010 10:15 am

    Some lessons just need to be learned the HARD WAY!!

  5. Tara permalink
    March 16, 2010 8:50 pm

    I’m just catching up on your blog and this one had me rolling! Ahhh how I miss the days of candy wrappers and notes to boys! lol I’m still laughing. Oh and Happy Birthday Brent!!

  6. Tracey permalink
    March 19, 2010 11:45 am

    That’s great!! Can’t believe she went the whole evening without saying anything!!! I teach 4th grade and 50% of my students have cell phones. CRAZY

Leave a Reply

