Skip to content

Snider House Rules

February 19, 2010

My friend Lori, who has two rambunctious sons (and a husband with the patience of Job) has the following list posted in her kitchen:

My favorite Snider Rule:  If you start to boil, excuse yourself.

Question:  Does “boil” mean get angry, or burp and fart?  Lori, please let us know in comments, if you would.

I know what it means at Steiner Haus.

I’ve been holding onto this photo for a while now, thinking I would churn out a post about it someday.  And Voila!  Today is the day. After this morning’s events, it appears that Brent and I will be making a similar list for our kids very soon.

Steiner Haus Rule #1:  Facebook is a privilege, not a right.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2010 4:44 pm

    Ms. Steiner,
    Webster’s offers 5 definitions for boil, 4 of which apply to the statement.
    1. To change from a liquid to gaseous state. Yep. Excuse yourself. This is a good rule for anyone with boys in the house, and is particularly effective when they start to yell, “Hey, come here and pull my finger”.
    2. To reach or be brought to the boiling point. Snider translation: Before the screaming begins, excuse yourself and go hit your punching bag rather than your brother.
    3. To be deeply stirred or upset. Translation: When you are this upset, you are not rational. Go to your room and leave me in peace with my wine and and the latest episode of “Project Runway” until you are ready to carry on a civil conversation.
    4. To be in an agitated or violent state. Translation: Would refer to a temper tantrum, which in the Snider house, can affect all ages. Again, we don’t want to see it. The wailing and gnashing of teeth is best done in the privacy of your own room sans an audience to fuel your fire.
    When you see the boil coming, point to the list and say, “What’s the rule?” and your children will obediently and respectfully trot off to their rooms to to let off a little steam (or gas) in private. Well…at least in theory. Enforcing the list seems to be the greatest challenge…I am glad you posted our list. Now I can show my kids the list is so important, it is even on the Internet.

  2. Dad permalink
    February 19, 2010 8:21 pm

    3rd RULE: If someone says “stop” or goes limp, taps out the fight is over.

  3. February 22, 2010 10:01 am

    Okay, being the dork that I am, I recommend creating the family rules as a family – we did that and the rules were great, even better than I could have thought of myself! Also, the teacher in me suggests that you try to make them positive – what you do want them to do, as opposed to what you don’t want them to do. (Be kind as opposed to don’t be mean.)

    Sorry, just had to geek out on you for a sec.

    M

  4. March 4, 2010 2:46 pm

    2 hours of tv/video? Really?? My kids would kill for that rule!:)

    • March 4, 2010 3:29 pm

      To clarify, lest everyone think I am an extremely lax mother, (which, the hell with it – I kind of am, but I still find it important to try and keep their minds from turning to mush), the 2 hours of video/TV time applies to summer/off track /weekend hours and video does include the WII, XBox and computer. The 17 year-old thinks the rule very unfair. The 9 year-old doesn’t spend a lot of time watching anything except documentaries, so the rule doesn’t need to be enforced with him much.

      I’d love to hear everybody’s rules…I just made these up in the heat of the moment to maintain order last summer. Threw them up on the wall and declared the mutiny over.

Leave a Reply

