Skip to content

Laundry Art

May 6, 2010

Being a mother is a wondrous thing. It comes with all sorts of fringe benefits like hugs, kisses and tiny little butt cheeks to pinch at your whim. But one of my most favorite things is to open the washer and dryer and see what treasures await me.

One of several jars of items found in the laundry

We have pretty hair at Steiner Haus

Library Card—I haven't been able to check out a book for over two years

And I quote: "Where the hell did this come from?"

Carved Rock Stegosauruses—you know, just because

No wonder Boy's! penmanship is so horrific

Tell me some of the random goodies you’ve found in your laundry.  And start your own collection.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. planejaner permalink
    May 6, 2010 1:58 pm

    funny and relatable! I have found lip gloss, pencils, thumb-drives for computers, makeup, gum, candy wrappers, (un-used) feminine hygiene prducts, bobby pins, sponge rollers, earrings, necklaces…the list, it seems, could go on and on. Pagers (my husband’s), cell phones (kids), ipods.
    I now add up each kid’s total items…and subtract .50 cents for each thing from their allowance/time from the xbox/computer. This, not surprisingly, has helped A TON.
    thanks for the smile today
    jane

    • Kristin Steiner permalink*
      May 6, 2010 3:19 pm

      Thanks for your comment Jane.

      You are much nicer than I am. If I find it in the laundry it goes into the collection…and stays there. We’ve also got some thumb drives, a camera memory card (I guess we’ll never know what photos are on it) and some other more valuable things that I’m sure the kids would love to get back.

      Oh well. Finders Keepers. 🙂

  2. Tara permalink
    May 7, 2010 8:35 am

    I almost peed my pants when I read this! You are so stinkin funny I can’t take it! Hope all is well! 🙂 Love from WYO!

  3. May 13, 2010 7:27 pm

    My husband and I are both pretty anal about emptying our pockets at the end of the day. I look forward to the treasures my son will leave in his clothes when he starts getting older.

Leave a Reply

