Skip to content

All By Myself, Don’t Wanna Be…

May 26, 2010

I used to be a single mom.  And while it was indescribably hard at times, I look back at those days as some of the best of my life…so far.

It was during this time that I truly became a woman, became Super.  I write this and it seems odd, backward.  After all, I had already been married, divorced, given birth, bought a home—all at an age too young for any of those things.  But being on my own with my daughter forced me to stand up, really, for the first time in my life.

And then Brent came along.

When we first started dating, I knew I was screwed.  I walked around in a constant state of twitterpation (for lack of a better word).  Actually, I still do.  I adore this man.  ADORE HIM.

He takes care of me in a way I thought I didn’t need.  That’s the thing about single motherhood.  Like it or not, it makes you a little bit jaded.

Brent is in New York this week working, trying to launch yet another business and this is the longest stretch of time we’ve ever been apart.  He’s been calling and texting in between meetings and speeches to make sure I’m feeling alright and eating healthy while he’s away.   He is extremely thoughtful and if he loves you, you are lucky.  I miss him.  A LOT.

OMG!  As I sit here writing this, my doorbell rang and I was presented with this, no kidding:

I am very, VERY lucky.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2010 11:26 pm

    Yes you are! They are beautiful roses!

  2. June 5, 2010 1:58 pm

    Beautiful! I don’t think my husband has ever gotten me flowers…

Leave a Reply

