Skip to content

Can I Get A Witness?

August 26, 2010

Awhile back, a man rang my doorbell late one Saturday morning.

Up until that point, we’d been having a lazy day, enjoying our coffee, watching TV, snuggling on the couch.  So when I heard the bell, I padded to the door in my PJs, hair askew, smeared mascara and all, and was quickly introduced to Scott.

Scott is a Jehova’s Witness.  He was pleasant, personable, polite, not pushy, well-dressed and he gave me a copy of The Watchtower. We chatted for about 10 minutes and I too was pleasant, personable and polite (if not well-dressed).  We said good-bye and I thought to myself, “I will never see that man again,” as I dropped his newsletter into the recycle bin.

Jehova apparently had different plans.

Two weeks later, Scott was once again at my door.  And two weeks after that.  And two weeks after that.

He came every two weeks for well over a year.  And with each visit, our discussions became more and more personal, spiritual and for me, fulfilling. All while standing at my door, in my pajamas, teeth unbrushed.

These chats puzzled Brent, to say the least.  He didn’t understand why I didn’t put the kibosh on Scott’s visits altogether.  After all, I’d already said no to attending his church and declined hosting a bible study in my home.  And I had made it very clear that I had no intention of ever becoming a Jehova’s Witness.

One day, while I was thumbing through some literature that Scott had brought me, Brent finally asked, “Are you missing something in your life?”

I was so taken aback by his question that I simply blurted “No!” and feigned offense.

A short time later, I coincidentally met Scott in a business setting with one of my largest clients.  Turns out being a door to door Jehova’s Witness is not an actual job and wasn’t Scott’s entire life either, as I had so ignorantly assumed.

It dawned on me then that I didn’t really know this stranger at my door. So why did I engage in such in-depth conversation with him every other Saturday?

Was I lonely?  Depressed?  Was there something missing?

I haven’t seen Scott since that business meeting.  He simply stopped coming to see me.  But he really got me thinking…

Which in hindsight, was probably his whole point.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

