Skip to content

Affirmation

September 27, 2010

I’ve always considered myself a pretty chill parent.  I try not to sweat the small stuff where the kids are concerned, because parenting is chock-full of small stuff and my brain (and heart) simply can’t take the stress.

Don’t get me wrong…I worry about my kids.  My worries however, are more monumental.  Like, will our kids grow up to be productive members of society or will they live in our basement until they’re 35?

We take the basic preventative measures (bike helmets, sunscreen, parental controls for the TV), and deal with the big stuff (and yes, there’s been some big stuff) as it occurs.  But I don’t freak out about scraped knees or ear infections.  These things come up. And with four kids, they come up often.

BUT…

Having a newborn in the house again has made me a nervous wreck.

Last week Brent came down with a severe head cold, Monkey’s tonsils swelled up to the size of golf balls, Boy! woke up with a sore throat and I had a massive panic attack.

Trips to the doctor were made posthaste. Throat cultures were performed. Flu shots were had by all.

And the baby did not get sick.

Crisis averted.

My name is Super and I am neurotic.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2010 10:30 pm

    I’m like you – go straight to the worst case scenario. You must be prepared. LOL.

    M

  2. Tara permalink
    September 28, 2010 8:07 am

    My mom passed down the ability to imagine the worst case scenario in any situation too, I am right there with ya girl! Glad the baby got skipped! Can’t wait to see you!

Leave a Reply

