Skip to content

Veteran’s Day

November 11, 2011

I just returned from Monkey’s school’s Veteran’s Day Celebration.  They put on a wonderful program with music, photos and guest speakers and honored all of the veterans in attendance from World War II to present day.

I’ve written about my Dad’s time in Vietnam before (my Mom served too!), but I don’t think anyone has ever recognized his service in such a way before.  He stood up on stage and held Monkey’s hand while being presented with student artwork and applauded. It was very emotional.

He was honored.

Vietnam, circa 1968. My Dad goofing around in his barracks. Gotta love the pin-up girl and Budweiser cans.

Happy Veteran’s Day!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

