Skip to content

Looking Forward

December 1, 2011

One year ago our family was in crisis and I was at a total loss.  But that’s the trademark of a crisis—not knowing what to do.  So I did the only thing that I could think of.  The thing I admittedly don’t do often enough.  I prayed to God.  Or rather begged…for His help.

I remember thinking, “This time next year, things will be different,” and feeling better. That seems so trite now, but when you’re frozen, the passing of time can be the greatest blessing. I knew my family would never be the same.  But that was okay. Change doesn’t bother me as much as it used to. In that moment, I just wanted all of us to survive.

And we did.

It wasn’t easy.  The past year has been a struggle, day-to-day. Sometimes hour-to-hour.  But we made it through—a little older, a whole lot wiser.

And now we’re making plans again, we’re moving ahead.  No longer at a standstill.  No longer in that place. And I’m looking forward…to everything.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Joyce permalink
    December 1, 2011 9:54 pm

    Bravo, here’s to looking forward. Love you and am grateful for you.
    j

  2. Christina Ewoldt permalink
    December 20, 2011 3:56 pm

    Kristin, I have to tell you this post really struck a chord with me as we have been dealing with our own crisis over the last few months. I too have done my share of pleading with any higher power who will listen to help us get through this difficult time and hoping with every fiber in my being that I am making the right decisions in how to deal with all the details of our situation since there is no roadmap. Reading your post gave me hope that things will get better and that we are not alone in our struggle, even though it sometimes feels that way. Thank you for posting this and I wish you and your family a very blessed 2012.

    Sincerely,
    Christina

    • Kristin Steiner permalink*
      December 20, 2011 4:02 pm

      Thanks for your kind comments. I hope that things start looking up for you and your family soon as I know you have a lot on your plate. Please don’t hesitate or be afraid to reach out for help to me, or anyone. I remember something that you told me a long time ago when I was going through my divorce (another hard time) which was to surround myself with good people. That is ALWAYS good advice and I know you have so many people that love you.

      Happy Holidays to you and your family. I will say a little prayer for you.

      Kristin

Leave a Reply

