Skip to content

Food Revolution

March 19, 2010

Last month, Jamie Oliver, a.k.a. The Naked Chef, received the TED Prize for 2010 and gave a poignant speech about the Obesity Epidemic in the United States. Later this month a new television show will air based on the premise of the speech.

His speech rocked my world. So much so, that both Brent and I made the kids sit down and watch the 20 minute video and talked to them about the importance of making healthier eating choices.

Here are some of the (small) things we try to do as a family to eat healthier:

  • we’ve cut back on preservative-filled junk food, replacing those items with more fruits, veggies, nuts and other organic snack foods.
  • we make our meals at home from scratch, as opposed to using unhealthy, albeit convenient, boxed food shortcuts.
  • we eat out less.
  • we pay close attention to portion size.
  • we encourage the kids to bring their lunches to school more often and to choose regular, low fat milk instead of sugar-filled chocolate milk.

While I feel lucky that our children don’t have weight or health issues, I feel like there is so much more we can be doing to establish healthy eating habits. For all of our children, making smarter eating choices will factor greatly into how happy they are and how successful they are as they grow older.

I’d love to hear from all of you–foodies or not–what healthy behaviors do you instill in your kids.  We can all use new suggestions.

Homework: watch this video WITH your kids. It will change your life.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2010 9:39 pm

    Yeah! Thanks for writing this great post. People have always looked a little “sideways” at me because I have been so careful about what I feed my kids. We have shunned processed food well before it was in vogue and I’m so glad to see it becoming mainstream. I always made my own children’s baby food and I’d love to show you how when the time comes for you new addition to transfer to solid food. It’s easy, so much cheaper and you don’t need to buy any fancy equipment that’s on the market. Although, I wish I had of thought to market a baby food cookbook way back when I was doing it!

    • Kristin Steiner permalink*
      March 21, 2010 6:23 pm

      Thanks for your comment. I will definitely take you up on your offer, as making my own baby food is something I have already decided to do. And you know me…my culinary skills are lacking, so I’ll take all the help I can get.

  2. March 23, 2010 4:29 pm

    For the most part, I’m a TERRIBLE eater, so I try to keep my bad habits out of sight so as not to set a bad example. But, as my son gets older (he’s 22 months), I’m just going to have to quit altogether, I think he’ll catch on to me! We’ve switched from Safeway to strictly Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s to get the preservatives and corn syrup out of our diets, and I think it has helped a little with our weight.

    It’s tough with my kiddo, because he’s really picky (you read and commented, thanks!, on my post about that). I never put things in front of him for a meal that aren’t healthy. If he doesn’t eat them, then whatever. But, he usually tries a bite of everything, and there are a handful of really healthy foods he likes. Those are my standbys. Depending on how much good stuff he eats, I might let him have some kind of treat like berries or animal crackers (hey, the have iron LOL).

    • Kristin Steiner permalink*
      March 23, 2010 4:46 pm

      I’m so glad to hear that you allow your son treats. I cannot live without dessert. It’s hardwired in my brain that I must have something sweet after dinner. And I think it’s totally fine to give your kids a treat now and again, just because. We’ve always allowed our kids to have dessert as long as they eat well and demonstrate good manners (that’s a biggie at Steiner Haus). Lately, we’ve been doing “healthier” versions of dessert, such as homemade popsicles and smoothies, but I have to admit with this pregnancy and my love of ice cream, there are definitely a couple of visits to DQ in our future.

  3. March 23, 2010 11:54 pm

    I love what Jamie Oliver is doing to help raise awareness! It’s startling to realize how so many people really just don’t know the basics of eating healthy. Even me, when I pulled Jem off of sugar just to see if it helped her, I couldn’t believe how much sugar was in EVERYTHING – organic and whole wheat, no less. It made me pay more attention to the hidden sugar, even in bread.

    Also, I made my own baby food, too but with numero 2, I did a cost comparison of making it myself with organic fruits / veggies vs. buying organic baby food and the cost was about the same. I switched to buying organic baby food if possible to save myself hours in the kitchen!

    Good luck with your new eating plan!

Leave a Reply

